Top 5 Churches That Use Social Media Best

Mars Hill Seattle (marshill.com) – Beyond the sometimes polarizingly, yet magnetic personality of teaching pastor Mark Driscoll (@pastormark), the church has a very sizeable audience engagement on not just Facebook and Twitter, but also podcasting, Instagram, Pinterest, and YouTube, said Chuang. The private church-based social network The City (http://www.onthecity.org) traces its origins to Mars Hill.

LifeChurch.tv based in Edmond, Okla. – The church is recognized as one of the most innovative churches in the country. LifeChurch.tv was one of the first churches with an “Internet campus” (they call theirs Church Online). Senior Pastor Craig Groeschel (@craiggroeschel) and Innovation Leader Bobby Gruenewald (@bobbygwald) have harnessed the talents of some of the most successful techies around. The church is one of the very few that invests staff and resources to build tech tools for use by other churches, including the Bible app YouVersion, and Church Online platform, churchmetrics.com. LifeChurch.tv gives most, if not all, its resources away for free via http://open.lifechurch.tv.

Cross Point Church in Nashville, Tenn. (crosspoint.tv) – Most of its church leaders are actively engaged online via blogging and social media, including lead pastor Pete Wilson (@pwilson), Jenny Catron, Kyle Reed, Stephen Brewster, Brent Hodge, and more – exemplifying how to make an impact through personal touch while being a large church, said Chuang.

Gateway Church in Southlake, Texas (gatewaypeople.com) – Gateway’s recent purchase of the Table Project (a Christian social network platform) http://tableproject.org is a hint of their strategy to more deeply integrate social media with spiritual life. Chuang adds, “Of course, they have strong engagement on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Community Bible Church in San Antonio, Texas (communitybible.com) – Nils Smith serves as the Social Media Pastor (first one with that title I knew of) and recently launched a new version of their Internet Campus that has 30-minute messages delivered just for their Internet Campus – with a great web address http://onlinechurch.com.
Read more at http://www.christianpost.com/news/top-5-churches-that-use-social-media-best-97492/#3weeXWmru8EcTqSI.99

, , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Powered by #ourCOG